Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today is the last day of  the 3-Day Quote Challenge issued by Bridget over at The happy Quitter. I usually enjoy these so much, but for some reason this round has just not clicked with me. Day 1’s quote was very internal as if I were trying to convince myself of something. Day 2’s, yesterday, was very ponderous. I was a bit lost and ended up recounting something that had just happened as if in answer to the day before saying, “See, I AM strong!” I’m in a particularly weird head and heart space at the moment.

So today, rather than struggling through my binder again, I’m going to quote something that my dear, dear friend and spirit sister Kim sent me from Australia years ago. It’s a blessing, actually. I love blessings. I think they can profoundly affect our lives for good. One of my favorite books is by John O’Donohue called To Bless the Space Between Us: A Book of Blessings. It’s a terrific primer for anyone wanting to know what they are, and for gathering ideas of how to write your own.

This blessing from Kim has been on my desk for years and I’ve read it often. Or rather I breathe it in as a prayer. It never fails to make me feel better…

`
A Blessing

May you listen to your longing to be free.
May the frame of your belongings be large enough for the dreams of your soul.
May you arise each day with a voice of blessing whispering in your heart
that something good is going to happen to you.
May you find a harmony between your soul and your life.
May the mansion of your soul never become a haunted place.
May you know the eternal longing that is at the heart of time.
May there be kindness in your gaze when you look within.
May you never place walls between the light and yourself.
May your angel free you from the prisons of fear, guilt,
disappointment and despair.
May you allow the wild beauty of the invisible world to gather you,
mind you and embrace you in belonging.

`

`
If you’re interested in learning about blessings, especially as in regards to blessing your children, there’s a book by John Trent and Gary Smalley titled The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance that is very helpful. It talks a lot about how to enhance your children’s self-worth. It’s a beautiful book.

I chose not to pass this challenge on to anyone else this time because I think I’ve already passed it along to everyone I know on here!!! But if you’re reading this and you’ve never done one of these challenges before, give it a shot. It really is quite amazing what your favorite quotes reveal about you!

Thanks, Bridget, for including me!

