Tags

, , , , , , ,

What can you do to simplify your life? That was the next topic for the Sandbox Writing Challenge from Roberta Allen’s book The Playful Way to Knowing Yourself. I agree with what a couple other folks have said. On the surface this seems like a simple question to answer, but is it?

The first thing my mind goes to is for Drollery and me to have our house to ourselves. We had exactly three months of empty-nestness before our son and his wife moved in with us. They were together for three years and have now been separated for five. No attempt on either part to end the relationship. In the meantime, she moved home, he is still with us. And I am NOT doing well as the mother of a live-in, adult child. I crave the peace of being able to do what I want when I want without someone else around 70% of the time sucking all the air out of the house. I put my time in as a parent. And it’s hard when your adult children live with you to not want to treat them like children instead of adults.

If we could remedy this situation, if he could find a full-time job that paid decent money so he could get his own place, I don’t think there’d be anything else in my life that needed to be much more simplified. Oh sure, I could say things like I need a maid, a cook, a laundress, a personal shopping assistant, a chauffeur… No wait! I don’t need a chauffeur because I don’t have my own car!

THAT is the one other thing that would help to simplify my life — having my own car. We have a car and a Suburban, but the Suburban has brake issues in the snow, so if the roads are bad, Drollery can’t drive it as the brakes lock up. That means that most of the time in the winter months I’m stuck at home. It creates a problem when I need to go visit the folks on my Caregivers list for church. I end up driving all over creation to get him to work before I can do my thing.

I would love to have my own little beater just to get around town. In fact, been praying about it and sending positive thoughts out into the universe for a year now hoping it will come to pass. My daughter even sent me a dragonfly charm to hang from the review mirror. But so far, nada.

Anyway, that’s it, my big two. As far as other things in my life that need simplified, they’re all within my grasp if I’d get my keister in gear and get organized like Matt said. I have no one but myself to blame for things like not getting that grocery list done, not getting sheets changed, or the kitchen floor mopped. I’m a big enough person to admit I’m lazy! I power sort the house an hour before his lordship comes home, and it works for me.

All in all we live a very simple life. Sometimes, in fact, I think it’s too simple (or I wouldn’t be on HERE all day every day pert near!!!).

 

 

