Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Oh goodness! Fimnora over at Quantum Hermit picked out a dilly this week for her Monday Music Medicine Show:

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, if it pleases you to play, share with us: What New Years specific tunes have you found speak for the moment when we leave one year behind, and  when we step across the border into new adventures and look forward? You know I want to hear it! Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

Now she already used the song I would have picked by the band I would have picked. Auld Lang Syne by Guy Lombardo and his Royal Canadians.

Guy Lombardo and his Royal Canadians (which included his brothers Carmen, Lebert, and Victor) began their long-time New Year’s Eve reign on first the radio then TV for CBS. They monopolized the New Year’s celebrations until Dick Clark made his appearance with New Year’s Rockin’ Eve in 1972. Lombardo’s last performance was December 31, 1976. He suffered a fatal heart attack in 1977.

I remember Lombardo’s band so well because my grandmother always babysat my cousins and the whole brood of us on New Year’s Eve so the adults could go to Welcome Inn in Marion, Ohio, and hear my dad’s band play. Grandma Lottie was one of Guy Lombardo’s biggest fans. She LOVED to dance.

So here’s a video of him from New Year’s Eve 1957 playing one of the most popular songs of that year (made popular by none other than Dean Martin), Melodie D’Amour.

And the piece de resistance (again),  Auld Lang Syne.

