Tags

, , , , , , ,

cropped-lent-geo-page-banner.jpg

`
Lent Photo-A-Day (February 10 – March 27, 2016)

`
Day 11 — Doubt

lighthouse-in-the-storm1

`
I think this is probably the most emotional word on this list for me. I am like the man standing in the doorway of this light house as he weathers one storm after another. My foundation of faith has been ingrained in me since the day I was born. Even when I fell asleep on the pews during worship service, I believe the words of the messages and the messages in the old hymns seeped into my soul. My foundation is good and solid, but it doesn’t mean it’s not assailed by waves of doubt as in this picture.

Some folks have not been kind as I’ve tried to maintain a balance between the answers and the questions. And yet to not acknowledge my struggles would be dishonest, just another mask. And I don’t believe God, or the Universe, or your Higher Power, whatever you want to call it, would honor that. To this Creator my heart is an open book. And even Jesus had his moments of doubt in the Garden of Gethsemane.

And so here I sit in my lighthouse with the storm raging around me as it may do until the day I die. But at least I can say I doubted with integrity…
`

The great leaders of the people of God, like Moses, have always left room for doubt. You must leave room for the Lord, not for our certainties; we must be humble.
`
Pope Francis

`

`
Picture Credit: iconicphotos.wordpress.com

