Tags

, , , , , ,

Today The Daily Post wants us to tell you our favorite thing about ourselves…

Ok. This might seem a wee bit weird, but my favorite thing about me is that when I look at someone I don’t see a person, I see a story. I feel like when we just talk to people we’re always in a hurry for them to finish talking so we can get our 2Β’ worth in (because we’re so wise and they’re just WAITING for us to pontificate about their issues, obviously…). But that’s not SEEING people. In my opinion, SEEING = HEARING as well.

people storiesEveryone has a unique story to tell because everyone is unique. Even me! (I know. You just thought I was a little strange, didn’t you! πŸ˜€ ) And the thing of it is people need to know that they are being SEEN for who they are. It allows them to feel validated. Makes it possible for them to keep moving through their life. Nora Neale Hurston said:

`

There is no agony like bearing
an untold story inside you.

We may not be able to do anything much to help someone solve a problem they have, but just the act of LISTENING and SEEING will often lighten their burden enough to sustain them on the next leg of their journey. As Keith Scott says:

Most people are stronger than they know.
They just forget to believe in it sometimes.

Sometimes they just need a little bit of affirmation, and how are we to do that if we don’t know what their story is?

And if the story they bear is a GOOD one, then so much the better, because spreading around happiness and energy keeps the world moving on an even keel. There are both kinds of stories, and we, ourselves, can grow immeasurably by just LISTENING and SEEING.

photo-26749045-sexy-girl-frog-cartoon-with-schooner-beerWhen I was working at the copy shop, I loved my job. It gave me the opportunity to meet so many different people. They would come in for ONE copy and stay and talk for an hour. One day, one of my favorite customers told me I was much better to talk to than his bar tender! I took that as a compliment, since bar tenders are reputed to be good listeners. πŸ˜€
`

`

* * * * *Β 

DAILY PROMPT

Toot Your Horn:Β Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

`
Picture Credits:
Book people —Β www.npr.org
F
rog —Β www.kozzi.com

