Tags

, , , , , , , ,

cropped-lent-geo-page-banner.jpg

Lent Photo-A-Day (February 10 – March 27, 2016)

`
Day 24 — Restored

Restoration. I’ve been digging around in the Cave of my Soul for a good fifteen years now. The idea of finding pieces of who I really am, of FINALLY individuating and becoming my own person (even after 44 years of marriage) is not only appealing to me but essential if I am ever be able to stand on my own should the need arise. I went straight from my folks’ home to a home of my own, and NO WHERE did I take time to figure out who I was.

So after a very productive 2015, here I am with a big bag of artifacts I found in my cave. And thanks to some help from good friends, I feel it’s time to take each relic out, clean it off, and put it back inside me where it originally belongs. Does that mean inside I’m going to be like the person I was at 20 when I got married? At 6 when my folks split up for a short time? No. I will never go back to being who I was.

BUT, the pieces WILL go back together and what will emerge will be a beautiful, more complete, and at-peace Soul. I am finally in the process of being restored.

What does restored look like? It looks like this (minus the dust!):

20160304_155957

`
I fell in love with this piano which sat in the fellowship hall in our old church building. It was original to the facility which was built in 1920+. At the time, the cabinet was an ebony black and shoving folded-up tables behind it for storage had taken a great big hunk out of the back edge of it at about the height of the keyboard. It was scratched up like crazy and generally in poor shape. But I had always wanted to learn to play a piano, and THIS was an awesome piano!

I had a piano tuner come in and check out the insides of it for me to see what kind of shape they were in, and with the exception of one foot pedal that didn’t work, it was well maintained. We had taken good care of it. There was a plaque inside with the manufacturing info on it. It was built in 1927 by W.W. Kimball and Company in Jasper, Indiana, the world’s largest piano and organ manufacturer at certain times in the 19th and 20th centuries. And that’s why the cabinet had held up as well as it had, the tuner told me, because the cabinet was actually built in the furniture company right next to the piano company.

In love with it, I offered our pastor a whoppin’ $500 for it. He sold it to me! I had it removed by a furniture restorer who repaired the damaged side and refinished it to match our furniture at home. I would defy anyone to find the place on the side of it where that baseball-sized chunk was missing. The restorer did a beautiful job. Not only that, but after having it tuned when we finally got it home three months later, it sounded exceptional. (Though the foot pedal still doesn’t work. I was just going to learn on it, what the heck.)

My point is, restoration is an amazing thing. Even if it doesn’t leave you exactly the same as your original you, it can still leave you whole and beautiful. I hope I can do that good a job on me! (LOVE this quote!)

`
People, even more than things,
have to be restored, renewed, revived,
reclaimed, and redeemed;
never throw out anyone.
`
Audrey Hepburn

