Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lent Photo-A-Day (February 10 – March 27, 2016)

`
Day 28 — Mercy

churchdoors_Fotor

`
Today’s word struck me deeply. I went looking for images of people helping other people, helping animals, tending the environment. But THIS is the picture that spoke to me.

THIS is what mercy looks like to me. No matter what a ninny I’ve made of myself, how badly I’ve hurt someone, how frightened I may be of something going on in my life… Whether I need to apologize for my insensitivity, ask forgiveness from someone for my mean-spiritedness, or find myself crumpling in fear… Mercy is always there like an open door for me to walk through.

And as I walk through that door time and again, I learn what it means to be compassionate. Compassionate to others, and compassionate to myself.

`
The quality of mercy is not strained.
It droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven
Upon the place beneath. It is twice blessed:
It blesseth him that gives and him that takes.
`

William Shakespeare

`

`

Picture Credit: www.markmallett.com

cropped-lent-geo-page-banner.jpg

