Tags

, , , , ,

rear view mirrorThere is a line in LuAnne’s poem that made me suck in my breath and hold it for a few seconds. “…the layers and layers of now…” I think I’ve just realized that I miss most of the world every day… Awesome poem, LuAnne!

Wind Rush

rear view mirror

It is curious how easily
I get lost in the jumble of tasks,
five errands to run during rush hour traffic
somewhere to be at a particular time
but blocked by others doing the same

While plunked down in stillness when I want to keep moving
I find it’s a grand time to remind myself
to notice the layers and layers of now

like the lawns flocked with shadows,
clouds covering clouds,
and maybe the crescendo of katydid calls
all harmonizing in this complex moment
with my heartbeat and my breath
until the light turns green

It’s a game I play, the space-between-space game,
brief gifts throughout the day
to see deities around me
in the real time I’m actually living

Image is an original photo by the author

View original post

