Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ok… So my age is going to really show here, but when I saw this Word Press prompt I just couldn’t resist doing a post.

1960, I’m 9 years old, and I’m totally in love with not only music, but I’ve discovered Broadway productions, a lot of which were presented on black and white TV. Though my favorite was probably the ballet The Nutcracker, another musical settled itself deep in my heart.

Mary Martin & son Larry Hagman

Mary Martin & son Larry Hagman

During the next few years we moved from Ohio to Utah. I discovered The Beatles and the Beach Boys. It had been years since I’d seen this production on TV, and I’d all but forgotten the music. Then I was asked to babysit for some friends, and while flipping through the music book for their organ, I found it again and learned to play it. It’s been a favorite ever since. I sang it over and over to Bran when he was a baby.

The musical was Peter Pan starring Mary Martin (who, btw, was the mother of Larry Hagman of I Dream of Jeannie and Dallas fame). And the song is Distant Melody. It’s charming and sentimental, and I love it to this day. Have you ever heard it?
`

`

`

Daily Prompt: Melody

Picture Credit: www.dailymail.co.uk

