Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m reblogging these questions from Descartes Baker over at Heretofore – Forgotten Victorian Novels. His answers are most interesting. I’m pretty sure mine will be fairly simple compared to his as he put a LOT of work into his post. But I’m going to give it a shot anyway! Should you wish to join is, please link to both our blogs so we can enjoy your answers!

Whats-On-Your-Nightstand

`
What book is on your bedside table right now?

Hitler’s Willing Executioners: Ordinary Germans and the Holocaust (Daniel Jonah ““Goldhagen)
Beachcombing at Miramar (Richard Bode)
The Death Cure (James Dashner)

What was the last really great book you read?
And the Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini) The last half of this book had me in tears.

If you could meet one author (living or dead), who would it be and what would you ask them?
Rod McKuen. I’d ask him how he continued to write through so much heartache.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf? (Never once did I read these books to my kindergartners without bawling like a baby at the end. I know they thought there was something wrong with me!)
Morgan and Yew (Stephen Cosgrove, Robin James)
A Certain Small Shepherd (Rebecca Caudill)
The Giving Tree (Shel Silverstein)
The Velveteen Rabbit (Margery Williams)
The Small One (Alex Walsh)

How do you organize your personal library?
By genres, though at the moment they’re NOT in alphabetical order within the genres. And I have two “To Be Read” shelves that need to be organized.

What book have you always meant to read but not got to yet?
Moll Flanders (Daniel DeFoe)
Tess of of the d’Urbervilles (Thomas Hardy)

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel like you should have liked but didn’t?
Loved Ken Follett’s Pillars of the Earth and World Without End. Enjoyed the first book in his Century Trilogy, Fall of Giants. But I simply could NOT get through the second book, Winter of the World. So didn’t even buy the third one, Edge of Eternity. I was very disappointed.

What kind of stories are you drawn to?
Fantasy, hard core Sci-fi, Sci-Fantasy, Classics, some non-fiction. I REALLY dislike biographies.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?
Two of them. In the Garden of Beasts (Erik Larson), and Hitler: The Memoir of a Nazi Insider Who Turned Against the Fuhrer (Ernst Hanfstaengl). And the sooner the better!

What do you plan to read next?
You mean when I get the three on my nightstand read? Hm… Half Truths: God Helps Those Who Help Themselves and Other Things the Bible Doesn’t Say (Adam Hamilton)

____________________________________

THAT was fun! Tag! You’re it!

`

`
Picture Credit: www.fromlefttowrite.com

