Tags

, , , , , ,

I have once again taken up the gauntlet of the 3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge thrown down by Ms. Jane over at Making it write! So here I go, picking up the glove for day 1…
`

20141010111230_beforeyoublazeatrailask

`

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

`
Now I don’t normally gravitate to the classical writers. But I GET this quote by Emerson because for the most part that’s what I’ve chosen to do the last few years. (Well, I guess the truth is I was always a bit of a rebel at heart.)

All my life I’ve tried to dance to everyone else’s tune for me, but my heart was always hummin’ a different song. Three years ago — I think it must have had something to do with filing for Social Security and realizing I was running out of time to figure out who I wanted to be when I grew up! — I woke up and said, “Hey! This isn’t me! Enough of this crap.” And I got off that well-beaten path and began to blaze my own trail.

Ok, blaze may be a bit strong of a word. If I look behind me I can barely see where I’ve disturbed the underbrush as I’ve journeyed. But at least it’s a start. Trouble is, the one thing Emerson forgot to point out was that when you do that, some of the time people who know you and expect you to act a certain way will think you’ve gone “round the bend” one too many times. They will get upset when you look, think, and act differently from them. They MAY even accuse you of “backsliding” (if they’re the religious types).

SO! If you are thinkin’ you agree with ole Ralph, be very sure you are ready to take a lot of flack before you set out on your adventure. It can cause some hard feelings. And at times it might make you question your own sanity. The only thing I can say in my defense is that it’s opened my eyes and been a heck of a lot of fun!. 😀 (Well, in between the weird looks and scoldings… o_O )

`

`
Thanks, Jane, for the challenge. I do enjoy these. They help me know what I’m thinkin’! I won’t, however, be nominating anyone. I’ve exhausted my list over the months. But if you would like to join in the challenge, go for it. Just leave a pingback for this post so I can come and read your marvelous quotes!

Picture Credit: www.managingamericans.com

