Tags

, , , , , ,

Robert Hershon

ab2415a9-177d-43a4-9d3a-9eb30edc47c8Robert Hershon has published thirteen books of poetry. Most recently, “Goldfish and Rose” (2013);Into the Punch Line: Poems 1984-1994 (1994), The German Lunatic (2000), and Calls from the Outside World (2006). His work has appeared in the American Poetry Review, Poetry Northwest, the World, Michigan Quarterly, Ploughshares, and The Nation, among many others.

He is also the recipient of various awards, including two creative writing fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts. He worked as the executive director of the Print Center and is a co-editor of Hanging Loose Press and Hanging Loose magazine in Brooklyn, NY. He has edited various collections, including Smart Like Me and Shooting the Rat, collections of High School writing. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.)

Robert Hershon’s 12th poetry collection, Calls from the Outside World, was published in 2006. His other titles include The German Lunatic and Into a Punchline: Poems 1986-1996. His work has appeared in American Poetry Review, Poetry Northwest, the World, Michigan Quarterly Review, Ploughshares and The Nation, among many others and has brought him two NEA fellowships and three from New York State. He lives in Brooklyn with his wife, writer Donna Brook, and has two grown children. (Poetry Foundation)

`
This is a very short, sweet poem. Had I not known who wrote it, I would have sworn it was a mom. It captured me because I always remember how when Bran was little and he and I would walk into town, I always seemed to be ahead of him. Not just because my legs were longer, but because I was usually in a hurry whereas he had a whole world to explore. Now when we go somewhere together — especially the grocery store — I so often find that it’s ME who is the one that’s lagging behind as HE has things to do. 😀 Life is funny isn’t it? Anyway, I thought the poem was really tender and I know just how Hershon felt when he wrote it.

`
Sentimental Moment or Why Did the Baguette Cross the Road?

Don’t fill up on bread
I say absent-mindedly
The servings here are huge

My son, whose hair may be
receding a bit, says
Did you really just
say that to me?

What he doesn’t know
is that when we’re walking
together, when we get
to the curb
I sometimes start to reach
for his hand

`

`
Picture Credit: Macalester College

