Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is one of those prompts that leaves me fuddling all over. This week’s Sandbox Writing Challenge #64 wants to know:

changing-appearance-1-323067-1

Have you ever tried to change someone in your life?
How’d that work out for ya?

`
On the surface this seems like such an easy question. OF COURSE I’ve tried to change people! But the truth is, I think the only people I’m really guilty of doing that with are my kids. And I don’t know if that counts because isn’t that what parents are supposed to do? Help to shape their kids into successful adults? Ah, but then I guess I’m STILL trying to do that with my adult children. Well, at least one of them!

But these questions confound me for a reason. I don’t usually go out of my way to try to change anyone. I’m too lazy for one thing. It’s easier to just avoid them altogether!!! But in those important relationships I have I guess I may be guilty of using what could be construed as a “back door method” of trying to get people to change. At least I THINK it’s a method to get them to change. Or is it?

I’m talking about just telling people what I want. Is that a healthy thing to do, to say to your spouse, for example, “I would like a few more hugs today, please…” Or is that just another way to manipulate people? I only ask because honestly I’m not sure. I know it’s very HARD for me to ask for what I want or (more importantly feel I) need.

So I guess I have to answer this question by saying truthfully, I don’t know. I’ve never SET OUT to change someone, made them my pet project (unless you wanna count getting Bran to clean up his room). But I also can’t say I haven’t pressured others to change. Or IS articulating what you honestly need a covert way of trying to change people? I just don’t know…

`

`
Picture Source: Dreamstime.com

