Tags

, , , , , ,

I am SO falling behind in posts I’d planned to do, but I just have to take a minute to post this TED Talk that Harula included on her GLADvent Day 14. It’s by Mac Barnett whom I knew NOTHING about and am now totally in love with!

vegetablesMac Barnett (born August 23, 1982) is an American writer of children’s books living in Oakland, California. Barnett graduated from Pomona College, where he studied under the writer David Foster Wallace. Extra Yarn, a picture book illustrated by Jon Klassen, won the 2012 Boston Globe–Horn Book Award and 2013 E.B. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

I thought I’d fall over listening to him describe one of their tutoring centers, Time Travel Mart.. 😀 This is a talk for writers, readers, and children. I try to be all three and I know you do, too. Thanks so much, Harula, for posting it!
`

Published on Sep 17, 2014

Childhood is surreal. Why shouldn’t children’s books be? In this whimsical talk, award-winning author Mac Barnett speaks about writing that escapes the page, art as a doorway to wonder — and what real kids say to a fictional whale.

`

`
Picture Source: Watch. Connect. Read.

