Tags

, , , , , , ,

Have been over to Denzil Walton’s blog Life Sentences reading his Sunday Supplement post. He reblogged a post about discovering angels in your life. It resonated with me because I’ve had exactly the kind of experience he described in his first paragraph. He said,

All of us probably have stories where a complete stranger seemed to appear at just the right time to prevent an accident, help us make the right decision, find something that was lost etc. etc.

`
One afternoon fifteen years ago or so I was on the interstate on my way home from work in March or April. The weather was beautiful. The snow was melting, the roads were clear. It was no where near rush hour so there wasn’t a lot of traffic. I was just tooling along listening to the radio when I came round a bend in the highway and a huge gray cloud floating overhead started spitting out an unexpected hail storm.

bigstock-car-crash-ca-accident-at-snow-18986789At 65 mph, as soon as I hit the little balls of ice I started to slide toward the car in front of me. I couldn’t get stopped. I rear ended him and my car spun 180° before I finally got it stopped. He pulled off the road, I turned the car back around and pulled off behind him. It didn’t strike me as odd just then that there were no cars bearing down on us on that highway.

We both got out. I grabbed my insurance info from the glove box, while he was inspecting the back of his car. It was when I apologized profusely and asked to exchange information I realized he didn’t speak English. He was VERY agitated. There was a new license sticker in the rear window of the older car he was driving and it hit me he probably had just bought it and might not have any insurance.

I didn’t speak Spanish, so was at a loss to know what to do when this guy walked up and asked if he could help. He spoke fluent Spanish. I was relieved. He explained to the man what information we needed to exchange and the fella fetched his from the car. We leaned over the trunk and wrote insurance info and name and numbers down. That’s when I noticed there was no traffic. None at all. It seemed very weird.

I turned to thank the man for helping us out, but he was no where to be found. There was no car, no foot prints in the snowy road. In fact, we hadn’t seen his car pull away. The man I’d hit was as confused as me. It was as if this helper had just disappeared into thin air. And as we looked around for him, suddenly the traffic picked up again. I don’t know what he thought since I couldn’t ask him, but the hair was standing up on the back of my neck.

il_340x270-428969865_3xc5To this day I believe that man who helped us out was an angel. He couldn’t have just disappeared like that otherwise. Nothing like that had ever happened to me before or since, but I can honestly say now that I believe in angels!

What about you? Have you ever had an angelic experience?

`

`

Picture Source:
Car wreck — Bronx Lawyer
I believe — Etsy

