Tags

, , , , , , ,

So after deciding what our purpose in life is, the next Sandbox prompt wanted to know:

When do you feel most connected to yourself — your
highest, truest self?

`
This prompt is as easy for me as the last one. It’s when I’m helping someone. I’m a real behind-the-scenes type person. I don’t need the credit for stuff. Anyone who knows me knows what I can and can’t do, and whether I can help them with something. There’s no need to take credit for that. I feel God’s given me a few gifts, and should I cross paths with someone who could benefit from my use of them, then that’s what I’m called to do.

I have struggled at times with my inner voice telling me I’m a “suck up.” Actually I’ve struggled with that a lot because I AM, admittedly a people pleaser. But I had to get to the point where I said to that snotty voice, I don’t care what you think. If I listened to you I’d sit on my arse and never do anything for anyone! (Probably even my own family!)

I STILL go through times now and then when I have to combat that accusing voice. And when that happens, I usually go kind of quiet and withdraw from life a little bit. But I can only stay away from people for so long before I’m hungering for that human connection again. Sadly, sometimes it’s really easy to just stay at home and be comfortable right here not feeling like I need to be responsible for anyone or anything. The older I get, the harder I have to fight that feeling. I think that’s what #9 was about on my NaJoWriMo Day 5 post.

Be that as it may, every time I do something for someone, especially something like visiting with the shut-ins from church I visit regularly, I feel like I’ve thrown a pebble in the water, and I hope the ripples will spread out and touch someone else’s life who’ll toss another pebble in the pond and “pay it forward.” That’s how life should be. All of us rippling together.

`
dollar-ripple-effect

`

`
Picture Source: Enlightened Catholicism

 

