Tags

, , , , ,

Read these interview questions and Lauren’s answers on LJONESEDITION: Between the pages of a book is where I’d rather be. Thought I’d give them a shot! Now if you decided you want to tackle them too, be sure to ping me back so I can read your answers!

books on shelves

 

You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I usually have more than one book started, several genres more often than not, so it just depends a) on the mood I’m in, and b) what room my keister ends up in!

You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit? 

I’m getting better about this. I finally realized I’m NOT going to like everything I pick up to read. So on occasion I will just decide it’s a lost cause and put it in my donate box. Other times, if I feel there’s some redeeming quality and I REALLY want to stick it out, I’ll scribble up a schedule of so many pages per day and commit to getting through it no matter what. Some books just don’t hit me until the last third of the silly things.

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?  

I don’t do GoodReads. I’m a Shelfari person. I know life has a lot of different rhythms and sometimes I read a lot (40 books a years) sometimes not (7). I’m ok either way.

The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?  

Grin… I HAVE been known to buy two of the same book to make it match — IF, as the question says, it’s a series I love. Such as the Born In series by Nora Roberts (my excuse for reading them was because they took place in Ireland). Other wise I can mix paperbacks with hardbacks no problem.

Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?  

I don’t worry about that. I don’t feel people HAVE to read what I suggest, nor do I feel like I have to read what THEY suggest. Life is simpler that way.

You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I cry…quietly. If people look at me weird, oh well. If they ask, I tell ’em why.

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?  

Either skim or re-read. Depends on how much I loved the book. Re-reading is easier than reading, imo.

You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?  

I keep a notebook called Booklust whee I write a VERY quick review of each book as I finish it. In the back of the book there are some pages I dedicate to checking my books out and then back in when people borrow them. Including when I borrow someone else’s. But I ONLY lend to people I know love books as much as I do.

You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

I figure out what it is I’m caught up in at the time (like THIS) and figure it’s all on a wheel of life, it all comes around. Pretty soon, when it’s time, I’ll be reading again. If I try to make it about anything else other than enjoyment, it takes all the pleasure out of it for me.

There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?  

Generally I don’t buy books that are just coming out. I’m too cheap. The exception is if it’s one in a series I’m dying to read. I’m more likely to pick a book because I’m suddenly interested in the subject matter. I don’t usually spend time scoping out new stuff being released. Until recently we had a great used book store. I spent a lot of money there.

After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?  

I try to finish what I’m reading first (at least ONE of the books I’m reading). But if I can’t stand it, I go ahead and read it!

* * * * *

This is my own question I wanted to add! What are your three favorite genres?

Fantasy, WWII history, the classics.