Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s that time once more for Fimnora Westcaw’s Monday Music Medicine Show over at Quantum Hermit. Here’s this week’s challenge:

What is a song on your playlist which turns up when you count through to your age?

Mary WellsWell you may find this hard to believe, but I don’t have a play list! I don’t have anything even remotely LIKE a play list. So I thought and thought about what I could do. At last I decided (since I’m 64) to go to Billboard’s Top 100 songs of 1964 and find out what was at #1 on my birthday that year. Drum roll, please…….  It was My Guy by Mary Wells.

And just for fun, you know how some of those oldies keep turning up in different incarnations over the years? Well this one had a very INTERESTING “incarnation” in a movie in 1992. The movie was Sister Act starring Whoopi Goldberg and Maggie Smith. And the song was reborn as My God

I wonder if there are any other big hits out there that have been reborn in such an illustrious manner. If you know of one, let me know!